castígate

blog del 1r ESO E de l'IES Ramon Llull

Walls, poems and metaphors

Palma used to be a walled city, and we’ve also been talking a lot about walls. Today we are going to use walls to learn what a metaphor is.

Here follows a poem I found in a site that tries to help American students improve their writing. It does not say who the author is, but it fits the things we’ve been doing in class. http://rhlschool.com

Let’s look at walls from a different perspective. In this poem, walls are a metaphor of … let’s see if you  can discover it.

Maybe it is a bit difficult for you, but with the help of some images I’m sure you’ll grasp the meaning.

“I Build Walls”

Some verbs to help you understand the poem. You may need to look them up in the dictionary. http://www.wordreference.com/

yield          shield        block                  hide          protect       cover

stare          smile                   look away           cry    touch

Some images to help you


I Build Walls


I build walls:

Walls that protect,

Walls that shield,

Walls that say I shall not yield

Or reveal

Who I am or how I feel.

I build walls:

Walls that hide,

Walls that cover what’s inside,

Walls that stare or smile or look away,

Silent lies,

Walls that even block my eyes

From the tears I might have cried.

I build walls:

Walls that never let me

Truly touch

Those I love so very much.

Walls that need to fall!

Walls meant to be fortresses

Are prisons after all.


POST 71. HOMEWORK for Tuesday 24th November.

  1. Look up in a dictionary the verbs in blue italics you do not know and copy them in your notebook.
  2. Are the walls in this poem made of bricks or any physical materials?
  3. What are the walls of this poem made of?
  4. did you like the poem?

Post answers to questions 2 and 3 and 4 in the blog.

22 Novembre 2009 - Posted by | deures, exercicis, poesia, vocabulari | , ,

17 comentaris »

  1. It is a poem that gives us and is pretty interesting

    Comentari per pepelujo | 30 Novembre 2009 | Resposta

  2. 2)is made of physical material.
    3)Your thought, because nobody can know your thought.
    4)yes, much.

    Comentari per 1esoiesramonlull | 24 Novembre 2009 | Resposta

  3. The poem speaks of feelings not of wall bricks.
    Yes I like very much.

    Comentari per 144lala | 24 Novembre 2009 | Resposta

  4. 2)There are physical materials.
    3)I thik is the body.
    4)Yes is very nice.

    Comentari per andrea199762 | 23 Novembre 2009 | Resposta

  5. 2)I think the wall is of physical materials.
    3)They’re made of feelings.
    4)Yes but I don’t understand all of the poem and the meaning.

    Comentari per llorensete | 23 Novembre 2009 | Resposta

  6. 2- No. These walls are not material.I think is psychical.
    3-These walls are made of feelings, guilty feelings.
    4-Yes I like it, because are feeling from the deep part of the heart.

    Comentari per mealemany | 23 Novembre 2009 | Resposta

  7. 2)I think is made of bricks.
    3)I think the wall is the body.
    4)Yes, I like.

    Comentari per juditell | 23 Novembre 2009 | Resposta

  8. 2. I think that the walls is made of bricks but not a little bricks, a big bricks.
    3. Who it feel or how it feel.
    4. yes, but it’s difficult to understand some lines.

    Comentari per Daryl Jade | 23 Novembre 2009 | Resposta

  9. 2 I think that the walls is made of bricks but not a little bricks, a big bricks.

    Comentari per Daryl Jade | 23 Novembre 2009 | Resposta

  10. 2)I think is made of any physical materials.
    3)I think is the body.
    3)The true is I don’t understand much the poem but I like what I understand.

    Comentari per sarabouza12 | 23 Novembre 2009 | Resposta

  11. 2.No, they are not made of any physical material, only the imagination.

    3.They are made of emotions.

    4.Yes, because the words are very sincere.

    Comentari per aina | 23 Novembre 2009 | Resposta

  12. 2.The walls in the poem are about the blocks we make with people.

    3. The walls are made from the human body in general.

    4.Yes, I did because it was a poem talking about the way many people feel.

    Comentari per peptoni xD | 23 Novembre 2009 | Resposta

  13. 2-Physical material.

    3-The wall is the body.

    4-Yes i like but i have some problems.

    Comentari per 1alejandro | 23 Novembre 2009 | Resposta

  14. 2.Physical material.
    3.The body on general.
    4.Yes, I like the poem.

    Comentari per miguelinramonllull | 23 Novembre 2009 | Resposta

  15. 2)I think wall is of physical material.
    3)I think wall is the body, but anyway I dont understand very well the poem.
    4)From what understand, if I like.

    Comentari per Pilar | 23 Novembre 2009 | Resposta

  16. 2- i think made of bricks
    3- of feelings? i not understood well the poem.
    4- yes but i had problems to understand.

    Comentari per philline | 22 Novembre 2009 | Resposta

  17. Maybe.I don´t now. If I had seen the poem maybe I try to answer.
    The poem does not go out.

    Comentari per india16 | 22 Novembre 2009 | Resposta


Deixa un comentari

