castígate

blog del 1r ESO E de l'IES Ramon Llull

Music to go with Bernat’s broken glasses: Break, broke, broken

Bernat really knows how to make your imagination take off!

Well here comes some music that fits with the topic of your Catalan assignment, I could have chosen others but I decided to pick this one “walking on broken glass” because,  as in Bernat’s composition, in this song there are windows, and broken glasses, and broken hearts too.

The chorus of this song by Annie Lennox is quite catchy and easy to sing. It was a hit in the 90’s and, I’m sure it will help you remember the past participle of the verb  to break. BREAK, BROKE, BROKEN

Music helps, doesn’t it? Everyone  in 1st ESO E knows “gone” is the past particple of the verb go, thanks to Black Eyed Peas. Go, went, gone

Annie Lennox, received in 2009 the “ WOMEN OF THE YEAR PEACE AWARD” for raising awareness of the impact of HIV and AIDS on women and children, especially in South Africa. She was very popular in the 80’s and 90’s. Now she keeps on singing and supporting humanitarian actions with her songs.  You can visit her “sing” campaing site here: http://www.annielennoxsing.com/

Listen to the music and fill in the gaps in the son to get the lyrics.  This you tube video uses some clips from a film version  of Romeo and Juliet.

sun,    sky,     rain,     sugar,      crashed     , wind, cut, windows, hurt (x2),blast, broken(X13)

Walking on, walking on (1) _______ glass
Walking on, walking on (2)______ glass

 

You were the sweetest thing that I ever knew
But I don’t care for (3)____, honey, if I can’t have you
Since you’ve abandoned me
My whole life has (4)________
Won’t you pick the pieces up
‘Cause it feels just like I’m walking on (5)_______ glassWalking on, walking on (6)_______glass
Walking on, walking on (7)_______glass

The sun’s still shining in the deep blue
(8)_______ but it don’t mean nothing to me
Oh, let the(9)_______ come down
Let the (10)_______ blow through me
I’m living in an empty room
With all the (11)_______smashed
And I’ve got so little left to lose
That it feels just like I’m walking on (12)_______ glass

Walking on, walking on (13)_______glass
And if you’re trying to (14)_______  me down
You know that I might bleed
‘Cause if you’re trying to (15)_______ me down
I know that you’ll succeed
And if you want to(16) _______ me
There’s nothing left to fear
Cause if you want to ( 17)_______ me
You’re doing really well my dear

Now everyone of us is made to suffer
Everyone of us is made to weep
But we’ve been hurting one another
And now the pain has too deep . . .
So take me from the wreckage
Save me from the (18)_______
Lift me up and take me back
Don’t let me keep on walking . . .
I can’t keep on walking on, I can’t keep on walking on (19)_______ glass

Walking on, walking on(20)_______ glass
Walking on, walking on(21) _______ glass
Walking on, walking on (22)_______ glass … walking on glass, walking on glass
Walking on, walking on (23)_______ glass … walking on glass, walking on glass
Walking on, walking on (24)_______ glass … walking on glass . . .

 

Homework: for Thursday. Look up the words you do not understand in a dictionary and post your findings to the blog.

POST 80

Anuncis

29 Novembre 2009 - Posted by | música, video activity | ,

24 comentaris »

  1. Empty: vacío
    hurting: daño
    smashed: destrozado

    Comentari per peptoni xD | 14 Desembre 2009 | Resposta

  2. Care:cuidado
    Whole: todo
    Empty: vacío
    Wreckage:restos
    I like very much the music because has good rhythm.

    Comentari per jlny7288 | 14 Desembre 2009 | Resposta

  3. Blast=ráfaga.
    Smashed=hacer pedazos.

    And the other words I understand all.

    Comentari per angelblanch | 4 Desembre 2009 | Resposta

  4. Two things: Blast: Explosión
    It’s a little bit… ridicolous this song.

    Comentari per tatidt | 3 Desembre 2009 | Resposta

  5. Trying=tratando
    Knew=sabía
    Fear=miedo
    Lift=ascensor

    The music is catchy.

    Comentari per 1esoiesramonlull | 2 Desembre 2009 | Resposta

  6. I like very much this video. I think the sie to Pep Toni. See they tomorrow.

    Comentari per andrea199762 | 2 Desembre 2009 | Resposta

    • Andrea, Do you understand all the words?
      What do you mean when you say… “I think the sie to Pep Toni”???

      Comentari per sgsonsoles | 15 Desembre 2009 | Resposta

  7. Blast:explosión.

    Smashed: destrozado.

    Hurt: herir.

    Smashed: destrozado.

    Comentari per 1alejandro | 2 Desembre 2009 | Resposta

  8. The video clips belong to “Romeo y Julieta” and the blond boy is Leonardo Di Caprio.Is very cool and very nice!!

    BLAST: ráfaga, esplosión.
    CATCHY: pegadizo, facil de recordar.
    SMASHED: romper en pedazos, hacer añicos.
    I could not find CUT ME DOWN in the dictionary. Can you traslate to me?

    The song is very beautiful and catchy.:)

    Comentari per mealemany | 2 Desembre 2009 | Resposta

  9. I really liked the song. The letter did not finish ent
    English ender but all is well. jajajaja.

    Comentari per luka2 | 2 Desembre 2009 | Resposta

    • Hi Lukas!,
      It is difficult to understand what you say. “The letter did not finish ent English ender but all is well…???”

      Comentari per sgsonsoles | 15 Desembre 2009 | Resposta

  10. wreckage=restos
    I like very much the music.

    Comentari per juditell | 2 Desembre 2009 | Resposta

  11. It’s very nice! The man is the star of Titanic, right?
    The video is done on a movie, not? Wich is the movie? I want to see her.

    Comentari per zandalie | 2 Desembre 2009 | Resposta

    • Hi Zandalie,
      Do you understand all the words?

      Comentari per sgsonsoles | 15 Desembre 2009 | Resposta

  12. smashed=destrozado
    I did not know.I like the video.

    Comentari per 144lala | 2 Desembre 2009 | Resposta

    • Hi 144lala!,
      Who are you? please tell me your name

      Comentari per sgsonsoles | 15 Desembre 2009 | Resposta

  13. i liked it the video the Romeo and Juliete. The song is very interesting.

    Comentari per peptoni xD | 1 Desembre 2009 | Resposta

    • Hi Pep Toni,
      Did you understand all the words?

      Comentari per sgsonsoles | 15 Desembre 2009 | Resposta

  14. The video is nice but does not resemble anything in the history.

    Comentari per xisco1997 | 1 Desembre 2009 | Resposta

  15. Love has reason

    Comentari per 1esoiesramonlull | 1 Desembre 2009 | Resposta

  16. I like this song, is very nice, the boy suffers a lot for love. The blond man is very handsome!. The starred in the film Titanic?

    Comentari per aina | 1 Desembre 2009 | Resposta

  17. looks like a good topic, but I could not fill the song that will not let me watch the video sorry

    Comentari per pepelujo | 30 Novembre 2009 | Resposta

  18. Maria but people know all the words we do not have to do anything, right?

    Comentari per india16 | 30 Novembre 2009 | Resposta

    • Hi,
      Are you Lovepreet? Yes, you are right but .. do you really understand all the words?

      Comentari per sgsonsoles | 15 Desembre 2009 | Resposta


Deixa un comentari

