castígate

blog del 1r ESO E de l'IES Ramon Llull

2.en.8. Stand, stood, stood and some idiomatic expressions with the verb to stand


Stand, stood, stood; Stand by; Stand for; Stand out; I can’t stand.

You all know what the verb to stand means, don’t you?  But I bet you do not know many of the idiomatic expressions with stand. Today we’ll learn a few. To begin with , let’s start with the title of the film.” Stand by me”

Stand by = apoyar, respaldar

“Stand by me” has been translated as “Cuenta conmigo”, but it also could have been translated as “Apóyame”, “Respáldame”

The opposite Let someone downdejar en la estacada, fallar, no apoyar y dejar tirado a alguien.

Stand out = destacar, sobresalir

Stand for= defender, abogar

Stand for= significar, representar

  • Basketball players stand out in the crowd, they are usually so tall!
  • Stand for your rights, don’t let bullies frighten you.
  • What does UFO stand for?

There’s a very common expression with stand, “I can’t stand”= I strongly dislike, I hate

I’ll give you three examples of somethings I cannot stand:

I can’t stand bullies and violent people

I can’t stand people who are whining all the time

I can’t stand lying on the beach for hours

I can’t stand Reggaeton

I can’t stand crazy driving and the sound of motorbikes speeding up in the city

What about you?

Homework : Write 5 things you can’t stand and post them to the blog.

18 gener 2010 - Posted by | vocabulari | ,

19 comentaris »

  1. 1.I can’t stand being many hours studying.
    2.I can’t stand the gazpacho.
    3.I can’t stand being told lies.
    4.I can’t stand the the tobacco.
    5.I can’t stand the spiders.

    Comentari per mealemany | 21 gener 2010 | Resposta

  2. (1) I can’t stand the stupid people.
    (2) I can’t stand the capricious people.
    (3) I can’t stand the people of Real Madrid.
    (4) I can’t stand Tatiana. 😛
    (5) I can’t stand the church.

    Comentari per Rodrigo Deus | 21 gener 2010 | Resposta

  3. 1. I can’t stand my brother.
    2. I can’t stand the ETA.
    3. I can’t stand because the people have the TDT.
    4. I can’t stand the homeworks.
    5. I can’t stand the holes in the street when I go skating.

    Comentari per zandalie | 20 gener 2010 | Resposta

  4. 1. I can’t stand my brother.
    2. I can’t stand slow computers.
    3. I can’t stand love handles.
    4. I can’t stand homeworks.
    5. I stand by my friends.

    Comentari per claudiapg | 20 gener 2010 | Resposta

  5. 1. I can’t stand the wars.
    2. I can’t stand the mushrooms.
    3. I can’t stand the snow.
    4. I can’t stand the Mondays.
    5. I can’t stand the admonitions.

    Comentari per jlny7288 | 18 gener 2010 | Resposta

  6. 1) I can’t stand my cousin.
    2) I can’t stand my uncle.
    3) I can’t stand the hamsters.
    4) I can’t stand the teachers.
    5) I can’t stand my cat.

    Comentari per andrea199762 | 18 gener 2010 | Resposta

  7. 1.I can’t estand bar$a and mandril team people.

    2.I can’t stand vegetables.

    3.I can´t stand doing my homework.

    4.I can’t stand the mondays.

    5.I can’t stand the coollege.

    Comentari per llorensete | 18 gener 2010 | Resposta

  8. I can´t stand my cousin.
    I can´t stand vegetables.
    I can´t stand E.F.
    I can´t stand bugs.
    I can´t stand lies.

    Comentari per Pilar | 18 gener 2010 | Resposta

  9. 1-I can’t stand my parents.
    2-I can’t stand vegetables.
    3-I can’t stand mathematics.
    4-I can’t stand christian religion.
    5-I can’t stand madrid team people.

    Comentari per angelblanch | 18 gener 2010 | Resposta

  10. 1:I can’t stand the fish.
    2:I can’t stand the heavy metal.
    3:I can’t stand the rain.
    4:I can’t stand homeworks.
    5:I can’t stand rude people.

    Comentari per pepe1997 | 18 gener 2010 | Resposta

  11. 1-I can’t stand brocoli
    2-I .can’t stand chat-shows.
    3-I can’t stand mosquitoes.
    4-I can’t stand blood.
    5-I can’t stand bad treatment to animals.

    Comentari per aina | 18 gener 2010 | Resposta

  12. 1-I can’t stand waiting in queues.
    2-I can’t stand snails.
    3-I can’t stand violent people.
    4-I can’t stand motorbikes.
    5-I can’t stand drugs.

    Comentari per peptoni xD | 18 gener 2010 | Resposta

  13. I can’t stand the girls who believe the most beautiful
    I can’t stand the cockroaches
    I can’t stand the spiders
    I can’t stand the people who lie to me
    I can’t stand the exams so difficult

    Comentari per philline | 18 gener 2010 | Resposta

  14. 1.I can´t stand the girls.
    2.I can’t stand old of homework.
    3.I can’t stand my brother.
    4.I can’t stand Lukas.
    5.I can’t stand the love music.

    Comentari per 1alejandro | 18 gener 2010 | Resposta

  15. 1. I can’t stand to wait someone or something.
    2. I can’t stand my brother too.
    3. I can’t stand to get up and wake up.
    4. I can’t stand people who stand out.
    5. I can’t stand people who don’t think before what they will do.

    Comentari per Daryl Jade | 18 gener 2010 | Resposta

  16. 1) I can´t let down my friends.
    2) I can stand out my homework.
    3) I stand for my rights.
    4) I stand for a play.
    5) You can stand by me .

    Comentari per india16 | 18 gener 2010 | Resposta

    • lovepreet, check number 1, 2 and 4. Number 3 and 5 are correct.
      I can’t stand doing my homework= No soporto hacer los deberes
      I stand for equality, for freedom (I stand for a play does not make much sense to me)
      Do not let your friends down.

      Comentari per mloredo | 18 gener 2010 | Resposta

  17. 1. I can’t stand my brother.
    2. I can’t stand the musicals.
    3. I can’t stand crazy people.
    4. I can’t stand my cousin.
    5. I can’t stand the violent people.

    Comentari per miguelinramonllull | 18 gener 2010 | Resposta


Deixa un comentari

