castígate

blog del 1r ESO E de l'IES Ramon Llull

2.en.9. Two versions of the song that gives the movie its name “stand by me”

The theme song of the film “Stand by me” was performed by Ben E. King and written by Ben E. King, Jerry Leiber and Mike Stoller. In the 60’s. According to Wikipedia, “Stand by Me” was ranked number 121 on Rolling Stone’s list of the 500 Greatest Songs of All Time. In 1999, BMI named it as the fourth most-performed song of the 20th century, with about 7 million performances.

Here follow 3 versions of the song. One is a cartoon animation, the other one is the result of an initiative to use music to connect people from all over the world, called “playing for a change”

Finally you might choose to sing along the original Ben E. King version as you read the lyrics



Timon and Pumba (animation)

“Playing For Change: Peace Through Music” street musicians from all over the world singing together

Stand By Me (lyrics) – Ben E. King



  1. What do you think about them?
  2. Which one do you like best?
  3. Do you understand the lyrics?
  4. What are the words you did not understand and had to look up in the dictionary?

Post your answers to the blog for Friday 22nd

Anuncis

18 gener 2010 - Posted by | música |

22 comentaris »

  1. 1. I liked the letter.
    2. I like the cartoon.
    3. Yes, I undrerstand.
    4. Tear=lagrimas

    Comentari per juditell | 23 gener 2010 | Resposta

  2. 1. This song is very catchy. It could be the anthem of friendship.
    2. I like all three equally, because all of them are special in some aspect.
    3. yes, but with the help of a dictionary.I understand the context.
    4. As long as: siempre y cuando
    To crumble: desmoronarse
    To shed a tear: derramar una lágrima.

    Comentari per mealemany | 22 gener 2010 | Resposta

  3. 1) the musics are nice
    2) I like best timon and pumba version.
    3) I think so what the music is easy.
    4) cry: llorar, tear: lagrimas, tumble: caer

    Comentari per 1esoiesramonlull | 21 gener 2010 | Resposta

  4. 1. I like the song, but is very slow.
    2. I like best the video of Timon and Pumba.
    3. Something things
    4. Afraid, crumble, tumble, shed a tear.

    Comentari per claudiapg | 21 gener 2010 | Resposta

  5. 1. I like the songs because are nice.
    2. I like best the first video: Timon and Pumba version.
    3. Well, not quite.
    4. Darling: cariño, crumble: deshacerse, shed a tear: derramar una lágrima, and should: debería.

    Comentari per jlny7288 | 21 gener 2010 | Resposta

  6. 1) I like the songs.
    2) The timon and pumba.
    3) Not all
    4) Afraid: Con miedo.

    Comentari per juanmiguel97 | 21 gener 2010 | Resposta

  7. 1-I like the song and also the letter
    2-I like best the video of Timon and Pumba
    3-A little
    4- “tumble” and “shead a tear”

    Comentari per philline | 21 gener 2010 | Resposta

  8. Maria, I did it in my notebook.

    Comentari per Daryl Jade | 21 gener 2010 | Resposta

  9. 1.I like very much all the videos because I like the song.
    2.For me, the best song are the first, with the cartoons.
    3. Yes, I can understand some parts of the song.
    4.Trouble-problema.

    Comentari per sarabouza12 | 21 gener 2010 | Resposta

  10. 1. Well, it’s Ok.
    2. I thing the best is the first and the last.
    3. Not all the lyrics, but yes, I understand some parts the lyrics.
    4. Darling: cariño, shed a tear: derramar una lágrima, and crumble: deshacerse.

    Comentari per miguelinramonllull | 21 gener 2010 | Resposta

  11. (1) I like the songs and the videos
    (2) I like more the autentic song.
    (3) No everything.
    (4) Afraid, tumble, crumble and trouble.

    Comentari per Rodrigo Deus | 21 gener 2010 | Resposta

  12. 1.I like this sing.
    2.The firs, Timon and Pumba.
    3.No everything.
    4.Afraid: miedo/ Darling: cariño/ Tumble: caer/ Should: debería.

    Comentari per zandalie | 20 gener 2010 | Resposta

  13. 1) I like very much the first video, this song are very good.
    2) I like Timon and Puma versiojn because the sing are invention.
    3) Yes, little.
    4) Crumble: derramarse

    Comentari per andrea199762 | 20 gener 2010 | Resposta

  14. 1) It’s a little bit borring the real people song.
    2) I preferes Timon and Pumba’s song, with the frogs.
    3) I underestand well because is not very dificault.
    4) Trouble: Problema

    The number 8, 7, 6, 5 and 4 has the same thing in number 3

    Comentari per tatidt | 20 gener 2010 | Resposta

  15. 1)I like very much the song and it is funny and nice.The best is the videoclip,I love the firt.
    2)Timon and Puma’s version.
    3)Not much.
    4)Trouble,cumble,tumbel.

    Comentari per pepe1997 | 19 gener 2010 | Resposta

  16. My favorite video is the first.

    Comentari per andrea199762 | 18 gener 2010 | Resposta

  17. 1-I like the videos, because I like this song.
    2-I like very much: “Playing For Change: Peace Through Music”
    3-Well, not quite.
    4-Afraid, tumble, crumble and trouble.

    Comentari per angelblanch | 18 gener 2010 | Resposta

  18. 1. I like the songs
    2. I like “Playing For Change: Peace Through Music”
    3- Well, not quite.
    4. Crumble: derramarse

    Comentari per jhoannacorrea | 18 gener 2010 | Resposta

  19. 1. I like the songs, the letter is very beautiful.
    2. I like “Playing For Change: Peace Through Music” street musicians from all over the world singing together.
    3. Well, not quite.
    4. Crumble: derramarse, caer.
    Shed a tear: derramar.

    Comentari per peptoni xD | 18 gener 2010 | Resposta

  20. 1- This songs are a exit. I love this !!!!
    2- I like more: Stand By Me (lyrics) – Ben E. King.
    3- Well, not quite.
    4- Crumble-deshacer o derramarse.

    Comentari per aina | 18 gener 2010 | Resposta

  21. 1. I like the song, think it´s a good song.
    2. I like best Timon and Pumba´s version.
    3. Well, not quite.
    4. I look at the dictionary: Afraid, tumble and crumble.

    Comentari per Pilar | 18 gener 2010 | Resposta

  22. 1) Well I like the song but I prefer the cartoon animation.
    2) I like very much Timon and Pumba´s animation.
    3) Yes I understood.
    4) But I look at the dictionary what is tumble, is ´´ caída, voltereta´´.

    I like very much th first song, poor Pumba.

    Comentari per india16 | 18 gener 2010 | Resposta


Deixa un comentari

