castígate

blog del 1r ESO E de l'IES Ramon Llull

2.en.24. Pronunciation: Homophones and jokes

In post 2.en.22 we looked at HOMOGRAPHS, now it is time to look at HOMOPHONES.

Words that are pronounced the same but are written differently . They are fun to learn and a good way to start playing  with words. Let’s see if you can make a good joke with some of the following.

maize /maze

mail/ male

beach /beech

none /nun

gorilla/guerilla

pea/ pee

cereal/serial

Look for the words you do not know and use images to help you remember them. It’s good to memorize words in pairs. Strange associations make it easier too.

I found this one for you it plays with two words Peace and Peas

Do you like playing with words?

Can you think of any other?

Can you make up a joke playing with words?

As usual, post your answers to the blog.

Deadline to post comments : Friday the 19th


Anuncis

14 febrer 2010 - Posted by | anglès, materials, vocabulari | ,

29 comentaris »

  1. Fun to play with words.
    No, I can’t.
    Will be fun to make jokes.

    Comentari per 144lala | 22 febrer 2010 | Resposta

  2. 1- yes, a little.
    2- to/ two.
    3- no/know
    in class I say more because now is very late.
    sorry.

    Comentari per mealemany | 19 febrer 2010 | Resposta

  3. Yes, it is very funny.
    Tree/three hungry/angry.
    Yes: were/wear/where.

    Comentari per angelblanch | 18 febrer 2010 | Resposta

  4. 1) yes, i like.
    2) three/tree.
    3) yes with pee/pea.

    Comentari per xisco1997 | 18 febrer 2010 | Resposta

  5. 1.Of course.
    2. Old/all
    3.Yes for example with mail and male.

    Comentari per sarabouza12 | 18 febrer 2010 | Resposta

  6. 1- Yes, I do
    2- Flour – flower/ blew – blue/ weak – week
    3- The dog answers: “Rough, rough.”

    Comentari per claudiapg | 18 febrer 2010 | Resposta

  7. 1-Yes, is fun!!
    2-I can’t thing another
    3-This is a monster what eat fish and ships jajaj

    Comentari per 1esoiesramonlull | 18 febrer 2010 | Resposta

  8. 1) Yes, I like much playing with the words.
    2) Well, no, I can’t think another.
    3) No, but I have a tongue twister in English.

    Comentari per miguelinramonllull | 18 febrer 2010 | Resposta

  9. *Yes but no very much.
    *I can´t think nothing.
    *Yes but I have to think about it.

    Comentari per Pilar | 18 febrer 2010 | Resposta

  10. 1- Yes, I like very much

    2- Do/Doe Mi/Me Fa/Far

    3- Yes, because it’s easy to do it.

    Comentari per tatidt | 18 febrer 2010 | Resposta

  11. a) Yes, I like.
    b) Peach, beach.
    Run, gun.
    Drop, top.
    c) One mail, send a mail about a gorilla killing guerilla.

    Comentari per guillemfurio | 18 febrer 2010 | Resposta

  12. 1)Yes I like very much the words are very funny.
    2)Sorry Maria but I know they have said them.
    3)The serial that more I like abaut cereals.

    Comentari per pepe1997 | 18 febrer 2010 | Resposta

  13. Yes, I like very much.

    peak, peek, peke, pique.
    yaw, yore, your, you’re.
    pause, paws, pores, pours.

    Yes I think is easy.

    Comentari per Rodrigo Deus | 18 febrer 2010 | Resposta

  14. 1. Yes, I like.
    2. Tic/Tick, troo/troupe, team/teem, fle/flee. I found these homophones in:
    http://teachingtreasures.com.au/teaching-tools/Basic- worksheets/worksheets-english/upper/homophones-list.htm
    3. Yes. Today in the breakfast I ate serials.

    Comentari per jlny7288 | 17 febrer 2010 | Resposta

  15. *Yes i like it.
    * wear/where, right/write.
    * right now i dont know any joke, i will think.

    Comentari per philline | 16 febrer 2010 | Resposta

  16. Yes, I like It.
    wanna/llama sway/way/say
    ORIG: You need to eat the bean.
    JOKE: You need to eat the bin.

    Comentari per Daryl Jade | 16 febrer 2010 | Resposta

  17. 1) Yes, I can.
    2) Too/ two.
    3) Yes.

    Comentari per andrea199762 | 16 febrer 2010 | Resposta

  18. 1.Yes, I do.

    2.Sword/word.

    3.I don’t think any joke in English.

    Comentari per gabriel384 | 15 febrer 2010 | Resposta

  19. 1:Yes, I like very much.
    2: their ,there
    hear , here
    3: Yes, I think is very good.

    Comentari per jhoannacorrea | 15 febrer 2010 | Resposta

  20. 1. Yes, Ilike very much.
    2. aisle, isle – brake, break – peace, piece – sea, see – week, weak.
    3. What will you do when you grow up? Nun.

    Comentari per zandalie | 15 febrer 2010 | Resposta

  21. 1- Yes I do.
    2-Pane/pain son/sun knight/night
    3- I don’t know any jokes with these types of words.

    Comentari per aina | 15 febrer 2010 | Resposta

  22. 2- No/know wood/would

    Comentari per peptoni xD | 15 febrer 2010 | Resposta

  23. 1-I like very much play with the words.
    2- Back/back,yea/year, hat/had.
    3- Yes, I think is easy.

    Comentari per india16 | 14 febrer 2010 | Resposta

  24. 1. Yes, much.
    2. three/tree eyes/ice mouth/mouse
    3. Yes, but without doing damage or insult people.

    Comentari per peptoni xD | 14 febrer 2010 | Resposta

    • Well, Pep Toni, I’m afraid tree and three are not really homophones, neither eyes and ice nor mouth and mouse. I’ll explain it tomorrow. Remember to ask me.

      Comentari per mloredo | 14 febrer 2010 | Resposta

  25. 1- Yes, I like very much
    2- Two/to/too, for/four, see/sea.
    3- Yes, because you can say: I send you a male.

    Comentari per juditell | 14 febrer 2010 | Resposta

    • Well done, Judit!
      It shows that you like playing with words.

      Comentari per mloredo | 14 febrer 2010 | Resposta


Deixa un comentari

