castígate

blog del 1r ESO E de l'IES Ramon Llull

2.en.31 “English tea”, “Moroccan mint tea”, outing, homework and music for the weekend

Hello everyone, after a long, long, long  break,  here I am again! back to my post writing habits and catching up with outings.


This year we set off with an outing to La Caixa and we keep on going back again and again. In fact, what we are trying to do is to open our eyes and our minds and look attentively around us. I’m sure that whenever you think of British people the word “tea” comes to your mind, doesn’t it?

In fact, it is true that  a cup of tea is a British tradition, and many people cannot think of Britain without thinking of tea but it is also true that,  as we  learnt yesterday at La Caixa,  tea drinking is also a ritual associated with cultures other than English.

First we’ll listen and watch a song by Paul McCartney which describes the perfect scenario for a British tea.

HOMEWORK . Task 1: Check the following words in the dictionary before watching the video and then fill in the gaps (there are ten words missing and some are repeated). I have made a collage with the key images to help you learn the words.

me willow tea be chime hollyhocks roses garden cakes croquet time

Copy the lyrics in your notebook and the new words you learnt.

Would you care to sit with _____ (1)
For a cup of English _____(2)
Very twee, very me
Any sunny morning

What a pleasure it would _____(3)
Chatting so delightfully
Nanny bakes fairy _____(4)
Every Sunday morning

Miles and miles of English garden, stretching past the _____(5) tree
Lines of _____(6)and _____(7), listen most attentively

Do you know the game _____(8)
Peradventure we might play
Very gay, hip hooray
Any sunny morning

Miles and miles of English garden, stretching past the _____ (5) tree
Lines of _____(6) and _____(7), listen most attentively

As a rule the church bells _____(9)
When it’s almost supper _____ (10)
Nanny bakes fairy _____(4)
On a Sunday morning

Now is time to change scenario. Let’s move south…

Let’s move to   THE MAGHREB.  First Read this text about  the Maghreb and   locate  the countries  on the map

The Maghreb or Maghrib is the name given on geography and history to the northern part of Africa. The Arabic word maghreb means “place where the sun sets”, i.e. The west, in opposition to mashriq “place where the sun rises”, i.e. The east. The Maghreb comprises the political units of Morocco, Algeria, Tunisia, Libya and Mauritania. To the north, the region is bounded by the Mediterranean Sea, and to the west by the Atlantic Ocean, running from the Straits of Gibraltar southwestwards to the deserts of Mauritania. The eastern most accepted boundary is  Egypt.

The concert we went to yesterday aimed at  showing some examples of music from this part of the world. It also tried to emphasize how  people from different cultures use music and traditions, such as tea drinking,  to establish links and to communicate with others.

In this video, Alia, will show you how to make a delicious Moroccan mint tea.

HOMEWORK. task 2:  watch  the video and summarize the steps and the necessary ingredients and equipment to make a good tea.Write the results in your notebook.

HOMEWORK . task 3: Now watch another video with subtitles in French, Arabic and English also showing how to make a mint tea.

Are there any differences compared with the tea prepared by Alia.

Here follows a collage with some images from yesterday’s outing. You will also find some of the instruments the musicians used during the concert.

Can you match them with their names?

Which instrument is missing in the small photos that was played by the director of the group?

You might need to do some internet research in order to answer this question.

These were the musicians we saw. This way you might find it easier to match the instruments with their names:

Hamed Soulimane, violin, karkabas  and vocals

Mohamed Ayoub:  vocals and  ud

Aziz Khodari: darbuka, daf, riq and  bendir

Said Elhrizi:  drum, karkabas and guembri

Joan Rectoret: electric bass

Lluís Pinyot: banjo

Did you like the concert?

Did you have a good time?

Who will be responsible for watering the plant we were given as a present?

HOMEWORK . task 4: Finally check this on line exercise to see if you know how to make a mint tea ?

There are 10 steps, and you only need to decide what the correct order is

http://ro.zrsss.si/~viljenka/maketea.htm

Some music for the weekend: a Tarara version by Camarón and a performance of the musicians you saw at La Caixa in Barcelona, Orquestra Arab  de Barcelona with Omar Sosa.  Enjoy!

Homework deadline  Tuesday 9th March

Post answers to task 3 to the blog. You can also comment on any other aspects of the outing you like. The rest of the tasks must be done in your notebook.

5 Març 2010 - Posted by | anglès, deures, materials, sortides | , , , ,

29 comentaris »

  1. Instruments: viloin, darbuka, daf, riq, karkabas.
    The motroccan castanets.
    I don’t like very much because the concert are boring.
    Yes, with the friends and with the other people of other high school.
    Yes all the class.

    Comentari per xisco1997 | 9 Març 2010 | Resposta

  2. 1.Instruments: violin, karkabas, guembri, electric bass, banjo, karkabas, ud, darbuka, daf, riq, bendir,drum.
    2.The moroccan castanets.
    3.I liked the concert, especially because we could participate.
    4.I had a very good time,is was fun with my friends…
    5. I’m volunteer.

    Comentari per LuK 'S | 9 Març 2010 | Resposta

  3. The difference between the first and the second video-clip is that they add orange blossoms.
    ————————————-
    1.Instruments: violin, karkabas, guembri, electric bass, banjo, karkabas, ud, darbuka, daf, riq, bendir,drum.
    2.The moroccan castanets.
    3.I liked the concert, especially because we could participate.
    4.I had a very good time,is was fun with my friends…
    5. I’m volunteer.

    Comentari per mealemany | 9 Març 2010 | Resposta

  4. Instruments: Violins, karkabas, ud, darbuka, daf, riq, bendir, drum guemburi and electic bass.
    I don’t no ( entiendo ) the questions.

    Comentari per juanmiguel97 | 9 Març 2010 | Resposta

  5. TASK 3

    Instruments: daf, riq, bendir, guembri, electric bass, karkabas, ud, darbuka, drum, violin.

    I don’t like very much the concert because the music are a little bit old and repetitive.

    I habe a good time because it was very fun go with friends.

    I think, Hao, today he watering the plant.

    Comentari per zandalie | 8 Març 2010 | Resposta

  6. TASK 3
    -Instruments: violin, karkabas, ud, darbuka, daf, riq, bendir,drum, karkabas, guembri, electric bass and banjo.
    -The moroccan castanets.
    -I like very much the concert, the music are beautiful and the people are nice.
    -Yes, I had a good time.
    -I don’t know but I think all the class.

    Comentari per Rodrigo Deus | 8 Març 2010 | Resposta

  7. Instruments: violin, karkabas, vocals, ud., darbuka, daf, riq, bendir, drum, karkabas, guembri, electric bass, banjo.
    The carcabas of hands of Morocco.
    The concert was boring, the music are very invariable.
    I had a good time with my friends.
    Te responsable of the plant was Hao.

    Comentari per claudiapg | 8 Març 2010 | Resposta

  8. TASK 3
    The intruments:violin, riq, karkabas, bendir, guemir, electric bass, ud, durbuka, daf.
    I like very much the concert and the musics.
    Yes.But was boring.
    Hao He is the manager of the plant.

    Comentari per pepe1997 | 8 Març 2010 | Resposta

  9. Task 3:
    Violin,karkabas, darbuka,daf, riq,bendir,drum, guembri.

    I don’t like this music!

    yes was fun.

    Comentari per 144lala | 8 Març 2010 | Resposta

  10. Task 3:
    -Instruments:Violin, Karkabar,guembri, Darbuka, riq, bendir, drum, Elecrtric bass.

    -The moroccan castanets
    -Idon’t like very much the concert… =/
    -Yes i have a good time, because i was be with my frieds.
    -I thing so what all the class…

    Comentari per 1esoiesramonlull | 8 Març 2010 | Resposta

  11. Task nº3:

    Nº1: Instruments: violin, karkabas, ud, darbuka, daf, riq, bendir,drum, karkabas, guembri, electric bass and banjo.

    Nº2: The instrument was not inthe photo was the morocco castanets.

    Nº3: I like very much the concert of the last Thursday. Yes, I has a good time. I think was all the class.

    Comentari per miguelinramonllull | 8 Març 2010 | Resposta

  12. TASK 3
    1.Instruments: violin, karkabas, ud, darbuka, daf, riq, bendir,drum, karkabas, guembri, electric bass and banjo.

    2.The moroccan castanets.
    3.I like the concert.
    4.I have a very good time,is was fun.
    5.I don’t know but I think all the class.

    Comentari per jlny7288 | 8 Març 2010 | Resposta

  13. I like our outing and also the musicians and the music.
    I had a beautiful experience, because I met an other type of music.

    Comentari per Daryl Jade | 8 Març 2010 | Resposta

  14. TASK 3
    -karkabas, violin,darbuka, daf, bendir,
    drum,guembri, electric bass, ud, riq…
    -The moroccan castanets.

    -Well… I don´t like very much the concert.
    -Yes, because everybody singing and dancing.
    -All the class.

    Comentari per Pilar | 8 Març 2010 | Resposta

  15. -instruments: ud, riq, bendir, darbukan,violin, karkabas, drum, darbuka, daf, electric bass, guembri, bendir.

    -Yes I liked but the music was a little bit repetitive.

    -Yes, I had a good time but the other concert was more funny.

    -I think all the class.

    Comentari per 1alejandro | 8 Març 2010 | Resposta

  16. * Instruments: guembri, violin, karkabas, ud, darbuka, riq, bendir, electric bass, daf.
    * I don’t like the music is was a little boring.
    * Yes is was fun.
    * The class

    Comentari per philline | 8 Març 2010 | Resposta

  17. -Instruments: violin, darbuka, daf, karkabas, riq, bendir, drum, elctric bass, guembri and banjo.
    -Yes , all the people was happy, but some songs where very borings.
    -Yes, a little boring but was funny.
    -I don’t know.

    Comentari per guillemfurio | 7 Març 2010 | Resposta

  18. TASK 3:

    Instruments:Violin, Karkabas, darbuka, daf, riq, bendir, drum karkabar, guembri, electric bass, ud.

    The moroccan castanets.

    -I don`t like the concert because the music are like the same all the time.

    -With the friends.

    -No.

    Comentari per llorensete | 7 Març 2010 | Resposta

  19. -Yes, there are some differences.
    -Instruments: violin, karkabas, ud, darbuka, daf, riq, bendir, drum, karkabas, guembri, electric bass.
    -I don’t like very much the concert because was a little bland, no chance the clothes and was music and now more.
    -A good time?…I liked the moment who all stan up and dance.
    -The most of the class.

    Comentari per sarabouza12 | 7 Març 2010 | Resposta

  20. TASK 3

    Instruments: ud, darbuka, violin, karkabas, bendir, daf, drum, electric bass, riq and guembri.

    I like the concert in general, but I think that the maroccan music is a little bit boring.

    I have a very good time.

    I think that all the class must be responsible.

    Comentari per angelblanch | 7 Març 2010 | Resposta

  21. Task 3:
    Instruments: ud, darbuka, violin, karkabas, bendir, daf, drum, electric bass, riq and guembri.

    I like the concert, but the Taranga concert I like very much I think the members of the class think the same.

    Yes, because I with my friends.

    I don’t now.

    Comentari per andrea199762 | 7 Març 2010 | Resposta

  22. task 3

    1. Instruments; guembri, electric bass, ud, karkabas, darbuka,daf, riq, bendir, drum, karkabar.

    2.The moroccan castanets.

    3. I don´t like very much the music was boring because some of the songs was very quiet.

    4. Yes, because it was fun to be with friends.

    5. I don´t know.

    Comentari per peptoni xD | 7 Març 2010 | Resposta

  23. Instruments: violin, karkabas, ud, darbuka, daf, riq, bendir, drum, karkabas, guembri, electric bass.

    The moroccan castanets.
    Yes, I liked the concert but it was a bit boring
    Yes,because it was fun to be with my friends.
    Everyone.

    Comentari per jhoannacorrea | 7 Març 2010 | Resposta

  24. Instruments: violin, karkabas, ud, darbuka, daf, riq, bendir, drum, karkabas, guembri, electric bass.
    I don´t like the concert, was a little boring.
    Not very good time, because with Taranga all was very fun but with this concert all was very igual. But I have a good time with friends.
    I think all the class is responsible.

    Comentari per juditell | 7 Març 2010 | Resposta

  25. there are meny homeworks for tuesday.The monday is the exam of english?

    Comentari per pepe1997 | 7 Març 2010 | Resposta

  26. The instruments are: violin, karkabas, drum, darbuka, daf, riq, bendir, ud, electric bass, guembri and bendir.
    Moroccan castanets are not in the photo.

    Yes, I like very much the concert, and the music reminds me a little Indian music.
    Yes, I have a good time beacuse everybody was happy.
    I think all the class, was responsible.

    Comentari per india16 | 7 Març 2010 | Resposta

    • Maria I did the exercise on-line and I get a 100%.

      Comentari per india16 | 7 Març 2010 | Resposta

  27. TASK 3
    -Instruments; violin, karkabas, darbuka,daf, riq, bendir,
    drum, karkabar, guembri, electric bass, ud…
    -The moroccan castanets.

    -I don´t like very much the concert because the music are a bit repetitive.
    -Yes, I had a good time,because it was fun to be with friends.
    -I don´t know. All the class…

    Comentari per aina | 6 Març 2010 | Resposta


Deixa un comentari

